• Newly elected Parish President Amos Cormier Jr. was sworn in alongside eight of nine council members at the Buras Auditorium on January 5. Irvin Juneau was not present.
    Jessica Ragusa

Cormier, Council Sworn Into Office

By Alex Galbraith
Parish President Amos Cormier, Jr. and newly elected council members were sworn into office on January 5 during an inauguration ceremony held in the Buras Auditorium. The ceremony was full of new faces, both in the parish’s top spot and on the council. District 3 representative Kirk Lepine and District 8 representative Jeff Edgecombe were the only returning councilmen sworn in on Monday night. The rest of the council was filled out with former councilmen returning after several years away (District 1 representative John Bartelemy, Jr., District 4 representative Irvin Juneau and former Parish President and current District 5 representative Benny Rousselle) and political newcomers (District 2 representative W. Beau Black, District 6 representative Charlie Burt, District 7 representative Audrey Salvant and District 9 representative Nicole Smith Williams).
To view more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition. http://www.etypeservices.com/Plaquemines%20GazetteID369/

Plaquemines Gazette

7962 Hwy 23
P.O. Box 700
Belle Chasse, LA 70037
Phone: 504-392-1619
Fax: 504-392-7526